Hello world!

So this is my first blog post. I’ve been trying desperately to think of something hilarious to write that will immediately make people want to follow this blog, but since I’m the type of person who is laughed at more than with, I guess I’ll start with a standard introduction:

Hi, my name is Carley Lightfoot. Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve always wanted to be a singer. I probably wasn’t that great at it age 10, trying to screech my way through a Whitney Houston classic, but I like to think that I’ve evolved since then (and hopefully so has my voice!). I’ve been singing for as long as  I can remember, started taking singing lessons at the age of 9 and have continued to take them ever since.

Singing has always been a lifelong dream of mine, and as an impulsive person it’s really been the only constant passion that I’ve ever had…well that and animals of course (because puppies, am I right?). One of the things that I love the most about singing is that you can never stop improving, and it’s so versatile and personal that one hundred people could sing the same song in one hundred different ways. I’ve learnt a lot over the years, not just about my voice, but about voices in general and although I’m not certified as a singing teacher, I like to think that I have enough knowledge of the voice and its technical workings to help and teach others. With that in mind, the main reason that I am starting this blog is because I love to sing, and I think that the idea of using what I know about the voice to teach others who also share my passion is pretty awesome. I’m still learning all the time, which is fine by me because that means I’ll never run out of things to say/post! (As if I could. I literally talk for HOURS).

That’s not to say however that all this blog will be about is singing. The vast majority of it probably will be, and it’s my aim to make a blog filled with tips from how to belt, breathing, and the larynx to stage fright, live performance and microphone technique. However, I also have a wide variety of other interests (I am interesting, I promise) that I will definitely be posting about, as and when I find something to talk about. I’m really into keeping fit and healthy, animals as I have mentioned – so expect MANY posts and pictures about my dogs and my hamster – beauty, fashion, gaming and….I’m pretty sure I have other hobbies too. I just can’t think of them right now. Basically what I’m trying to say is that although this blog will mainly be a singing blog, also expect posts that are completely unrelated to that. So pretty much just expect everything.

I think that this will be a great way for me to keep people who are interested in my singing, or even just learning how to improve theirs, engaged, and to help people and to hopefully entertain some of you. I’m not really a very funny person, but I will try guys, I really will.

I think this is probably a good place to end my first post, thank you so much for reading this, supporting me etc. etc., links to my Facebook, YouTube, Instagram etc. are down below. It’s super exciting for me as this is the very beginning of my musical journey online, and I hope you all share it with me – until next time guys ❤

P.S – (some shameless self promotion now) my first video – a cover of ‘Want to Want Me’ – is now on YouTube so please check it out if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

